AL I:1-10

If I had to summarize the first ten verses of the first chapter I would have to say that the prevailing theme is emanation, going forth, becoming. From the two eternal deities all the way down to the many and the known. Always in a commanding voice, describing unvealing, revealing and becoming.

We can look at this process as similar to the emanations of the sephiroth on the tree of life:

1. Had! The manifestation of Nuit.
Kether, the smooth point of “Had!”, notice the difference between tenses in the words manifestation and unveiling. The first is the totality, the second is active and on going.

2. The unveiling of the company of heaven.
Chokmah, describing the act of pouring forth, of creating.

3. Every man and every woman is a star.
Binah, that which is being brought forth. Those that will observe and create understanding within manifestation.

4. Every number is infinite; there is no difference.
Chesed, below the abyss, number comes into being. “There is no difference” establishing the pillar of mercy.

5. Help me, o warrior lord of Thebes, in my unveiling before the Children of men!
Geburah, the warrior is evoked, that the pillar of severity balance out the previous verse.

6. Be thou Hadit, my secret centre, my heart & my tongue!
Tiphareth, the center of the tree, the place of the heart and of balance. The sphere of sol, of Apollo and thus song and therefore the tongue.

7. Behold! it is revealed by Aiwass the minister of Hoor-paar-kraat.
8. The Khabs is in the Khu, not the Khu in the Khabs.
9. Worship then the Khabs, and behold my light shed over you!
I don’t have very good explanations for these. I can see a hint, but nothing worth putting down.

10. Let my servants be few & secret: they shall rule the many & the known.
Malkuth, the description of the Kingdom.

Leave a Reply

